Centriq Training Print Logo


December 10 02:34 AM

Blog Banner Graphic


Featured Systems & Security Admin Student for January 2018

Featured Systems & Security Admin Student for January 2018

January 3, 2018 in Featured Students / by Centriq Training

Leif Goleman


Before beginning my studies at Centriq, I graduated from Cornell College with a degree in Economics & Business in 2010. I come from a background of competition in sports, having the opportunity to play football at the collegiate level as well. I have spent the last 7 years primarily in sales and customer service, with a focus on finance. I am currently married and have a wonderful spouse that has been beside me through my career change. 


Q: Why did you decide to come to Centriq?
A: After years of sales as a banker and a Financial Adviser, I decided that person to person sales was not for me. So, I wanted to pursue my second passion, IT. I had run a business while working 60 hours a week at Hertz Rent-A-Car, SmashediPhone.com. In this business, I was in control of the day-to-day operations as well as giving in-home service on iPhone 3G and 3GS. I troubleshot problems on both the hardware and software sides. With this background and after hearing the commercials for Centriq on sports radio, I finally acted on 5 years of wanting to pursue IT as a career.

Q: What class has been your favorite so far?
A: I truly have enjoyed all my classes and instructors here at Centriq. If I had to pick my favorite classes, I would have to say that PowerShell and Windows Server Administration III. I enjoy getting to put a network of users and computers together to become a coherent whole, as well as automating some of the processes to maximize my time and build my skills further in these subjects.

Q: What do you hope to do after Centriq?
A: After Centriq, I look forward to putting what I have learned to the test with a company that invests in its IT department and employees. I see myself growing my knowledge further outside of Centriq. I hope to become a consultant of some sort within the next 8-10 years as I grow in this field.

Q: What other hobbies and interests do you have?
A: One of my favorite hobbies is following the local sports teams religiously. I was born and raised on the Kansas side of the state line, and love to support the Jayhawks (even football), the Chiefs, and especially the Royals. My wife and I watch nearly every game of these teams and use this as a great time for bonding between us. I also enjoy spending time with friends and family, my dog, playing softball or golf, and coaching basketball and golf with the Special Olympics.