Centriq Training Print Logo


December 10 03:27 AM

Blog Banner Graphic


The New CompTIA Security+ 601 Exam: A Complete Overview

The New CompTIA Security+ 601 Exam: A Complete Overview

January 6, 2021 in Corporate IT Training, Security / by Elizabeth Granada

In November 2020, CompTIA released the next version for the CompTIA Security+ exam, SY0-601. CompTIA updates its certifications every three years to keep up with evolving technology and to help keep IT professionals current with these changes. As businesses focus on a digital-first world during the coronavirus pandemic, having the most current security training for your team is more important than ever to help prevent any potential cybersecurity threats. Not only is a CompTIA Security+ certification the most popular security certification for employers, but it also fulfills the U.S. Department of Defense 8570 compliance. If you are an IT professional with an interest in cybersecurity, CompTIA’s Security+ certification might be the best next step in your career.  


What is the Security+ Certification?

CompTIA Security+ is a security certification for IT professionals that establishes core knowledge for those working in cybersecurity roles. A Security+ certification shows that you not only know how to identify security incidents but that you also have the knowledge to address them. It focuses on the latest trends in risk management, risk mitigation, threat management, and intrusion detection. Security+ is compliant with ISO 17024 standards and approved by the US Department of Defense to meet directive 8140/8570.01-M requirements.


Job Roles for Security+ Training


Any IT role that is involved in security readiness and preventing cybersecurity threats can benefit from a Security+ certification. This titles that can most benefit from having a certification are:

  • Security Administrator
  • Systems Administrator

Other titles that do not necessarily need a Security+ certification, but can benefit include:

  • Help Desk Manager
  • Network Engineer
  • Cloud Engineer
  • IT Auditor
  • Security Officer
  • Information Security Manager
  • IT Project Manager
  • DevOps/Software Developer

A Security+ certification can also help those in more advanced security roles, by providing a starting point for them to continue their security training. Roles that can benefit from the foundational knowledge of a Security+ certification include:

  • Cybersecurity Analyst
  • Security Engineer
  • Security Architect

Differences between SY0-510 and SY0-601 exams


CompTIA Security+ SY0-601 exam covers the latest in cybersecurity trends and techniques. The 601 has been condensed to five domains instead of the previous six to accommodate to the changes in security roles. The 601 exam is broken out into the following:

CompTIA Security+ 601 Exam Domains

1.     Attacks, Threats and Vulnerabilities (24%)

2.     Architecture and Design (21%)

3.     Implementation (25%)

4.     Operations and Incident Response (16%)

5.     Governance, Risk and Compliance (14%)

This exam is designed to focus on the most up-to-date skills needed for individuals who work in cybersecurity and work on the following tasks:

  • Assess the cybersecurity posture of an enterprise environment
  • Recommend and implement appropriate cybersecurity solutions
  • Monitor and secure hybrid environments
  • Operate with an awareness of applicable laws and policies
  • Identify, analyze and respond to cybersecurity events and incidents

Security+ exam details


How many questions are on the Security+ exam?

The CompTIA Security+ exam is a maximum of 90 questions that are multiple-choice and performance-based.


How long is the Security+ exam?

The CompTIA Security+ exam is a 90-minute long test.


What is the Security+ passing score?

You must get a passing score of 750 (on a scale of 100-900) on the CompTIA Security+ exam to become certified.


Training for the Security+ 601 Exam


Like any other exam revision, the principles covered in previous versions will not directly translate to the new 601 exam. If you had previously studied for the SY0-501 and were waiting to take the exam, you will need to make the decision to either take the exam now, or instead train for the new 601 exam.


Though no prerequisites are required to become CompTIA Security+ certified, it is strongly recommended that IT professionals have six to nine months experience in networking, including experience configuring and managing TCP/IP. It is also recommended that students are either certified or have strong understanding of the domains covered in CompTIA A+ and CompTIA Network+ exams.

The exam objectives in the 601 exam is fewer than those in the 501 exam, 35 compared to 37, but the examples under each objective have increased by about 25%. The increase in examples to designed to help you better understand each exam objective, better preparing you for your certification exam and ultimately for your career in IT.

The best way to study for each of the 35 objectives covered in the Security+ exam is to sign up for training that is designed to help you pass the exam. Our 5-day bootcamp is designed to set you up for success and understand CompTIA exam objectives through live, instructor-led training in person or virtually. By participating in active discussions around Security+ training, you will have a better understanding of what is covered in the exam, and how you can directly translate it to your role.

Sign up for our CompTIA Security+ bootcamp here.


Are you ready for the new CompTIA Security+ Exam? You still have time to complete the SY0-501 exam, but it must be completed before July 2021. Otherwise if you can wait to sign up for the most current in IT security training, start looking for the training program that suits your needs and will help you succeed in achieving your certification. Not sure where to start? Contact us or fill out the form below, and one of our Account Executives will get you set up in this next step for your IT security training.